Learn Somthing New

If you are not growing you are dying! Part of growing is the act of learning something new, consistently.   So, let me ask you, what are you learning that is new right now?

I am an avid seeker of knowledge, I hated school and wasted a scholarship, but I love to learn.  It is my goal to learn something new all the time, this year it is Spanish.

I have decided to learn Spanish,  so I am hosting Spanish Classes in my Referral Institute training center.   I invited several hundred people to join me in learning Spanish.  I figure there is this whole population of people whom I cannot network with effectively and that means I am losing business to people who can connect with them.  I thought other business people would feel the same way, but that has not been the case.  Of the 600 people I invited to participate, only 10 showed up to learn.

What a pity, what an opportunity loss.  It is so vital that we find new markets, new networks, new connectors and influencers and new ways of doing business.  Still no one was interested in this opportunity to expand their knowledge and their businesses.

Those same people who spent so much time telling me they could not afford the time, or the money are the very same people who will tell me six months from now, that they don’t have any business, or business is slow.

If you are going to stay in business, you need to learn something new, like Social Networking, Web 2.0, Spanish, how to get in front of more prospects or how to close more deals.  Because those who are learning will out perform you and your customers might become theirs.

Unfortunately,  many business people spend more time telling me what they can’t do instead of finding ways to figure out what they can do.

Now is not the time to pull back on investing in yourself, your company and your staff.  Now more than ever it is important to learn something new!  Money and time invested in yourself and your team is always money well spent.

4 responses to “Learn Somthing New

  1. !Que lastima! What a pity!!!

    You’re right on, Hazel. As soon as you stop moving forward…you start losing ground.

    You’ll be glad to know that I’m encouraging some of the folks in my network to attend a Social Networking workshop. We’re gonna take a field trip and learn something new together.

    Puedas practicar enspanol conmigo.

    Paula

  2. Jerry W. Williamson

    Hazel,

    I could not agree with you more. You are spot on! I’m just glad to know it’s not just me who is always listening to people who “don’t have enough business” and then they “don’t have time” to invest in growing their business.

    The one thing I keep reminding myself is something Ivan Misner speaks of often….even though 98% of the people don’t care, do it for the 2% that does genuinely does want to grow and learn!

    Thank you for this great post.

Leave a Reply

